Backbone Organization Board of Directors

The Board of Directors oversee the Backbone Support Organization as an independent non-profit, holding fiduciary responsibility for its long-term health and focus on educational equity.

The Board’s key areas of responsibility include:

  • Policy – Reviewing and establishing policies for the operation of the BSO as an organization
  • Finance –Stewarding the BSO’s financial assets and approving the annual budget, which includes setting partnership fees if any
  • Collaboration with the CEO — Supporting, retaining and advising the Chief Executive Officer.

Current Board Members

Chandra Alexandre

CEO, Community Action Marin

Rondell Gibson

Director of College Access, Marin, 10,000 Degrees

Maureen Kennedy


Tonik Matthews

Director and Senior Corporate Counsel, Autodesk

Anna Lam Pilloton

(Retired) Director, School & Community Partnerships, College of Marin

Larry Rosenberger

Retired CEO of Fair Issac

Rachael Ruffalo

Senior Practice Associate, Ed Trust West

David Wain-Coon

President College of Marin

Chantel Walker

Assistant Director, Marin County Free Libraries (MCFL)

Matt Wilka

Managing Director, FSG

Anne Wilson

Senior Advisor, United Way of the Bay Area